of Architecture


Alptransit and "Ticino City"




The Diploma work for the academic year 2007-08 will deal with the problems entailed by the transformations of the territory of “Ticino City” induced by the construction of the high-speed railway under the Alptransit project. This project grew out of the conviction that the indispensable solution to the problems of international circulation on rail and tyre, public and private – obviously seen in close relationship to the local road system – is a unique opportunity for planning a new territory, different from and better than that created on territorial planning principles in the past century.
This interpretation of the relationship between urban planning and architecture will be verified through the planning of special public spaces, in various zones affected by the course of the new railway line, in open-cut sections included between the south portal of the base tunnel of St Gothard and the north portal of the tunnel of Mount Olimpino, which will take the Alptransit through Chiasso to Italy. In these zones (Bodio / Biasca, Claro / Castione, Sementina / Camorino, Lugano / Pian Scairolo, Mendrisio / Stabio, Chiasso / Como) we can imagine deep-seated territorial transformations, accompanied by new developments (residential, commercial, manufacturing, sporting, etc), generated by the new roads.
Essentially the Diploma will examine the possibility of conferring form and dignity on the city that will grow up along the major roads of communication. The new developments should be related to a strategically designed layout and plans for new public spaces which are absolutely essential for the correct construction of the city.

  • Director
    • Aurelio Galfetti
  • Professors in Charge
    • Francisco and Manuel
      Aires Mateus
    • Esteban Bonell
    • Mario Botta
    • Marc Collomb
    • Aurelio Galfetti
    • Valerio Olgiati
    • Luigi Snozzi
    • Elia Zenghelis
    • Peter Zumthor
  • Assistants
    • Ursula Bolli
    • Gianluca Gelmini

Gonçalo Byrne, Sergio Crotti, Nicola Emery, Franz Graf, Stanislaus von Moos, Franz Oswald, Flora Ruchat-Roncati

Panel of Judges