of Architecture


Fondazione Archivio del Moderno


In occasione del trasferimento ad una nuova sede, la direzione dell'Archivio del Moderno comunica che, a partire da lunedi 22 maggio 2017, sarà temporaneamente sospeso l'accesso alla consultazione dei fondi archivistici conservati presso la stessa Istituzione.


The Archivio del Moderno, constituted as a foundation in 2004 by an act of the Università della Svizzera italiana, was created and has been directed since 1996 by Letizia Tedeschi as an archive and research institute. It was therefore founded at the same time as the Mendrisio Academy of Architecture and, in synergy with the Academy itself, its activities have expanded the contribution of knowledge and valorization of the historical, modern and contemporary debate centred on Italian, Swiss and international architectural culture, its past and present scenarios.

On the historical front, the work of the Archivio is devoted, on the one hand, to the philosophical century and what is termed the “neoclassical” age, and on the other to the twentieth century, with particular reference to the post-war period, but without neglecting complex contemporary developments.

It also conducts studies of the significance of archival documents in sharpening the focus on the genesis of projects and analyses the changing face of the architectural profession, the contribution of the history of technology, of encounters with the arts or specific disciplinary fields such as applied design, of repeated cultural transfers (classical antiquity in the case of the neoclassical period, and the “synthesis of the arts” in the case of the twentieth century), of diversified ties with local territories and the sense of belonging that may arise in relation to the contributions made by architects and craftsmen from Ticino to the history of architecture, of the changes in training to the ever new narrations in the sector, and of other developments that are forming the platform on which to launch new paradigms of critical interpretations in response to the contemporary debate.

  • Director
    • Letizia Tedeschi
  • Deputy Director
    • Nicola Navone
  • Staff
    • Riccardo Bergossi
    • Micaela Caletti
    • Sabine Cortat
    • Paola Giudici
    • Valeria Mirra
    • Alessandra Pfister
    • Marta Valdata
    • Annalisa Viati Navone
  • Ricercatori FNS

    • Feliciana Nicoletti

    • Paola Carla Verde


  • Ricercatori archivisti
    • Renzo Iacobucci
    • Elena Triunveri


  • esearch Fellows
    • Ewa Manikowska