Grafton Architects wins Mies van der Rohe 2022 award


Institutional Communication Service

27 April 2022

Yvonne Farrell and Shelley McNamara, co-founders of Grafton Architects and full professors in Architectural Design at the USI Academy of Architecture, the 2020 recipients of the Pritzker Prize, received the 2022 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award - for their design of Town House, the multipurpose higher education building at Kingston University in London.

The project received the accolade "for its remarkable environmental quality that creates an excellent atmosphere for studying, dancing, gathering and being together". The first university building to win the award houses spaces for dance, library and study.

The accolade is Europe's most prestigious architectural award and was established in 1987 to celebrate the contribution of European architects to the promotion of new ideas and technologies in contemporary urban development. It is co-financed by the Creative Europe Programme and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe.